Go Back   MBClub UK - Bringing together Mercedes Enthusiasts > Technical > Parts, Maintenance & Servicing
MBClub supports BEN Official Stickers @mbclubuk


Parts, Maintenance & Servicing
Looking for any special car parts?

Like Tree14Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-12-2016, 10:02 PM   #31
Hardcore MB Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Car: Various.
Posts: 5,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPX View Post
I would have assumed that it was ten offers over a ten day period, one per day, but then the wording used is no less than I'd expect of ECP.

That is incorrect. Or, more accurately, it may be incorrect.

You see, ECP don't actually know when the OIL50 offer ended.

In an email from Rebecca Pratt of the Customer Service Team to me 2 days ago replying to my original enquiry she stated:

"Good afternoon,

Thank you for contacting Customer Services,

That oil offer was only valid till Sunday at midnight, the ten days of offers thing refers to different offers being offered throughout the next few days,

Should you have any further queries please do not hesitate ...."

While the screengrab they sent me (post 18) says "OFFER ENDS MIDNIGHT MONDAY". So, I don't really know when it ended or was meant to end, or indeed, if it is still going as we are within the 10 days.

My indy tells me he has stopped ordering parts from ECP in sheer frustration at their incompetence. Too often he was wasting time & money trying to fit wrong parts they had sent or fitting wrong parts that don't work once fitted. Judging from the tone on this thread I'd say the majority have fallen out of love with ECP.

I wonder if Head Boy
Robert L. Wagman back at LKQ has a clue what's going on here in the UK.

Last edited by neilrr; 02-12-2016 at 10:05 PM.
neilrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 10:17 PM   #32
SPX
Hardcore MB Enthusiast
 
SPX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ap Norf
Car: Fat Fiat
Posts: 13,112
Honestly Neil, I know at least three indies that stopped using them ages ago (one of them turns over more than six figures a month), they are a shocking company and the quicker they go bust the better, an absolute shower of ****.
nick mercedes, stwat and hotrodder like this.
SPX is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-12-2016, 11:17 PM   #33
Hardcore MB Enthusiast
 
DSB SL AMG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cheshire
Car: 300SL (R129 1992 pre-facelift), Volvo V70 SE D5 Auto Geartronic
Posts: 1,596
Got that for you pal...ECP CEO email drop Martin a line, best to deal with the organ grinder...tell him about the fantastic ECP customer experience

martin.gray@eurocarparts.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilrr View Post
Me to them.

Thank you for your latest email.

Could you please give me the name & phone number of ECP's head of customer service?

I would like to give ECP one last chance to rectify this situation before filing a complaint with https://www.asa.org.uk/Consumers/How-to-complain.aspx & involving LKQ Corporation - Investor Relations - Corporate Governance - Board - Person Details


Regards.

Last edited by DSB SL AMG; 02-12-2016 at 11:22 PM.
DSB SL AMG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 01:48 AM   #34
Hardcore MB Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Car: Various.
Posts: 5,783
Thanks DSB, I was planning on going to the CEO of LQK Corp, ECP's parent company in the USA, where they are usually quite hot on customer service.

Decisions, decisions.............
neilrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 04:48 AM   #35
Hardcore MB Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: south east
Car: '93 320te
Posts: 819
Do both. And then stop using them. If people keep using them/falling for their silly marketing lies they'll keep opening more branches leaving the rest of us with less choice of where to buy...
Used to be several motor factors near me that i'd use. They've all gone except for S&C who are now surrounded by eurocrap branches leaving me a choice of queing for ages at S&C or waiting for eons in an empty eurocrap after having to buy on line to get the "real" price mail ordering from someone else
hotrodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 11:43 AM   #36
190
Hardcore MB Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Car: 2009 W204 C180K
Posts: 840
To add some balance I've got to say I've never had a bad experience with ECP or carparts 4 less. To be fair it's a long time since I bought spare parts as such but for branded service items like oil, filters, plugs, pads and discs I've never had a complaint. I tend to stock up when the price is right and not wait until I need something so the discount shenanigans are not really a problem. I can see how they would be though to a regular buyer like an indie.

There is one thing I hate about the ECP parts web site and most every other too and that's the dumbing down of parts selection that assumes you can't possibly know what part you want and they insist on the car details being entered to choose the part for you. Lets say I want to look at the available spark plugs for my motorcycle; I know that they stock them but the only way I can get at them is to pretend I have a car that uses the same part. Thankfully they are not so dumb when it comes to oil selection.
190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 06:22 PM   #37
Hardcore MB Enthusiast
 
DSB SL AMG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cheshire
Car: 300SL (R129 1992 pre-facelift), Volvo V70 SE D5 Auto Geartronic
Posts: 1,596
Have also used carparts4less occasionally and never had any issues...however, if used frequently that might not be the case as the risk of admin / logistics errors will be higher...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 190 View Post
To add some balance I've got to say I've never had a bad experience with ECP or carparts 4 less. To be fair it's a long time since I bought spare parts as such but for branded service items like oil, filters, plugs, pads and discs I've never had a complaint. I tend to stock up when the price is right and not wait until I need something so the discount shenanigans are not really a problem. I can see how they would be though to a regular buyer like an indie.

There is one thing I hate about the ECP parts web site and most every other too and that's the dumbing down of parts selection that assumes you can't possibly know what part you want and they insist on the car details being entered to choose the part for you. Lets say I want to look at the available spark plugs for my motorcycle; I know that they stock them but the only way I can get at them is to pretend I have a car that uses the same part. Thankfully they are not so dumb when it comes to oil selection.
DSB SL AMG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 09:17 PM   #38
Hardcore MB Enthusiast
 
Doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Berkshire
Car: R129, Renault Zoe, BMW R100
Posts: 3,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by 190 View Post
There is one thing I hate about the ECP parts web site and most every other too and that's the dumbing down of parts selection that assumes you can't possibly know what part you want and they insist on the car details being entered to choose the part for you.
Which is made all the worse when the parts their system presents you with are incorrect.
brucemillar likes this.
Doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 11:38 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Hampshire, UK
Car: C63 AMG
Posts: 74
I wanted some screen wash. Did an order online for collection but for some reason when I got to the store they couldn't find it. So I said can they match the price of the web offer and they couldn't. I stood there on my phone, put another web order through, and then he printed it off and grabbed my screen wash.
The young lad behind the counter that was adamant he couldn't price match was a bit shy when he gave me my order after I was standing there in front of him for 5 mins doing my online order! Even tried to tell me that online order can take up to 30 mins to come through. I reckon it was printed within 3 mins of me placing the order!!
Flackadder likes this.
Tombola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 08:57 PM   #40
Hardcore MB Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Car: Various.
Posts: 5,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilrr View Post
Me to them.

Thank you for your latest email.

Could you please give me the name & phone number of ECP's head of customer service?

I would like to give ECP one last chance to rectify this situation before filing a complaint with https://www.asa.org.uk/Consumers/How-to-complain.aspx & involving LKQ Corporation - Investor Relations - Corporate Governance - Board - Person Details


Regards.
No reply to my last email.

Wednesday morning I'm escalating this to the Big Cheese.
neilrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 06:11 PM   #41
Hardcore MB Enthusiast
 
nick mercedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: far far away
Car: Ford Expedition
Posts: 7,018
What did Mr Cheese say?
nick mercedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2016, 01:20 PM   #42
Hardcore MB Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Car: Various.
Posts: 5,783
I've just forwarded the email & a link this thread to Mr Wagman a few minutes ago.

I'll update as & when.
neilrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2016, 02:31 AM   #43
Hardcore MB Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Car: Various.
Posts: 5,783
This is the email I sent to Robert L. Wagman, President & Chief Executive Officer of LQK Corp, ECP's parent company.

Hello Mr Wagman,

I trust this finds you well.

I am writing directly to you so that you can see how your UK Customer Service department is operating. I've lived half my life in the USA & know US companies have a higher customer service standard than UK companies, but I wonder if you are aware how very poor your UK ECP CS dept is?

Please read this email thread from the beginning & click onto the link on mbclub.co.uk ECP posted regarding this offer - Black friday is here

Seems to me ECP got it wrong from the get go here & then sought to muddy the waters on your offer before just not responding at all! All to avoid honouring an offer that would have cost ECP the grand sum of about $USD10.

One thing that this has thrown up that may interest you is the commonly held view that ECP regularly raises it's prices before announcing a sale offer or promotion. This is widely viewed as a cynical attempt to hoodwink your customers & has resulted in many shunning your company. A quick google search supports the contention this perception ECP is trying to cheat its customers is the prevailing one on car forums & amongst independent repair facilities in the UK.

Did you know that?

Regards.

48 minutes later I received this email fromFaridah Jivani, ECP's Customer Service Manager.

Dear Mr neilrr

Please accept my heartfelt apologies, on all the inconveniences caused, related to the oil offer . I would like to personally apologize & offer, you my best services, to mutually resolve the issue.

Request you, to please contact me on 02034740500 or alternatively provide me with the best contactable number & preferred time, as a reply to the email.

Looking forward, to your positive response & I assure to bring a smile on your face. Thanking you for your patience / support.

Regards

So I called Faridah.

The long & short of it was ECP was very sorry, it was a silly mistake they & would honour the offer. I said that wasn't much of a concession as that was what they should have been doing in the first place & they should give me the oil! They couldn't do that but would knock 25% off the total price. OK says I, send me a Paypal invoice.

Invoice arrives, invoice will not allow me to pay it. I called Paypal, the fault was the way ECP has their account configured. Paypal were happy to pay, I had the funds in my PP acct., just ECP were blocking their own invoice.

So I sent Faridah an email.

Hi Faridah,

Paypal will not allow me to pay this request. Please see the screen grab.

Regards,

neilrr

The next day I sent her another email

Good morning Faridah.

Any we any closer to sorting this out?

I spent half an hour on the phone to Paypal who told me the problem is not with them but at your end. The funds are available in my PP account & PP is happy to pay your invoice but ECP is blocking the transaction.

Frankly, with the time & aggravation involved in this, all caused by ECP's mistake & refusal to honour it's own promotion I'm beginning to think you should be paying me, not me paying you!

Let me know what's going on please

Regards.

3 days later I sent her another email.

Faridah,

To say I am deeply unimpressed with the level of customer service provided by ECP is a huge understatement.

Can you please let me know today what is going on with this?

Regards

Response came there none so the next day I wrote to the CEO, Robert Wagman, again.

Hello again Mr Wagman,

As you may recall I had reason to contact you on Dec. 8th regarding a problem with ECP Customer Service that I was getting nowhere with (see my email to you in blue below).


"
8 Dec 12:15 (5 days ago)

Hello Mr Wagman,

I trust this finds you well.

I am writing directly to you so that you can see how your UK Customer Service department is operating. I've lived half my life in the USA & know US companies have a higher customer service standard than UK companies, but I wonder if you are aware how very poor your UK ECP CS dept is?

Please read this email thread from the beginning & click onto the link on mbclub.co.uk ECP posted regarding this offer - http://www.mbclub.co.uk/forums/parts-maintenance-servicing/217171-black-friday-here.html

Seems to me ECP got it wrong from the get go here & then sought to muddy the waters on your offer before just not responding at all! All to avoid honouring an offer that would have cost ECP the grand sum of about $USD10.

One thing that this has thrown up that may interest you is the commonly held view that ECP regularly raises it's prices before announcing a sale offer or promotion. This is widely viewed as a cynical attempt to hoodwink your customers & has resulted in many shunning your company. A quick google search supports the contention this perception ECP is trying to cheat its customers is the prevailing one on car forums & amongst independent repair facilities in the UK.

Did you know that?

Regards"


I did not hear back form you but did hear from Faridah Jivani, Customer Service Manager within the hour. I'm guessing that was too much of a coincidence to be anything other than at the instigation of your office.

She requested I contact her by phone to resolve this issue, which I did immediately. We worked out a deal where ECP would honour the offer it had posted on mbclub.co.uk & knock 25% off the total. So far so good.

Faridah then sent me a Paypal request which doesn't work. Paypal tells me the fault is at your end, they are willing to pay with funds I have in my account but ECP is blocking payment. 5 days & 3 emails later I have still not had a reply from Faridah Jivani to sort this out & am still without the oil I have been trying to buy from ECP for what feels like forever.

If ECP CS in the UK is this bad when they know the prod to sort out a problem has come from very high on high at LKQ, in fact as high as you can get in the corporate structure, how bad do you think they are likely to be when you are not involved?

You can see all of the emails in the thread attached. Read from the bottom up.

Regards.

Faridah was on the phone to me in no time at all, though without reading any of my emails so still unaware of the problem with ECP's invoice. She sent me a new invoice which worked & I collected the oil this afternoon.

A lot of faff for what should have been a five minute online transaction & I suspect many people would have given up. I felt ECP were in the wrong on the clarity of their promotion, in the wrong on the way they handled it & I just refused to let them get away with it.

Flackadder likes this.
neilrr is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to neilrr For This Useful Post:
bob6600 (15-12-2016), SPX (15-12-2016)
Old 15-12-2016, 09:01 AM   #44
SPX
Hardcore MB Enthusiast
 
SPX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ap Norf
Car: Fat Fiat
Posts: 13,112
I admire your tenacity Neil, but what a palaver!

If you ever wanted to know about the level customer service from ECP it's all pretty much wrapped up in that email.
SPX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2016, 10:03 AM   #45
Hardcore MB Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Cirencester
Car: C220 Sport 125 edition Cdi Blue Efficiency 5dr Auto Diesel Estate. W204.
Posts: 226
[QUOTE=neilrr;2394658]This is the email I sent to Robert L. Wagman, President & Chief Executive Officer of LQK Corp, ECP's parent company.

[I][COLOR=Blue]Hello Mr Wagman,

I trust this finds you well.

I am writing directly to you so that you can see how your UK Customer Service department is operating. I've lived half my life in the USA & know US companies have a higher customer service standard than UK companies, but I wonder if you are aware how very poor your UK ECP CS dept is?

-----------------------------------------------------------------



Hope you are okay with me 'borrowing' a few of these choice phrases when I write to CEO Mercedes Germany later today. I am finding that Customer Services Mercedes UK are........blinkered by their own presumed importance.

:-)
__________________
I never make mistakes. Well, apart from this once when I thought I had made a mistake, though had not.
Flackadder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
black, friday


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:22 AM.


MB club UK is A Mercedes Enthusiast club run by enthusiasts for enthusiasts, MBClub UK is in no way affiliated with Mercedes-Benz, DaimlerChrysler or any of their respective trademarks. The posted views of our members are in no way the views of MBClub.co.uk or its owners.
Find us on Google+