Go Back   MBClub UK - Bringing together Mercedes Enthusiasts > Technical > Engine
MBClub supports BEN Official Stickers @mbclubuk

Engine Engine/transmission and other oily matters

Old 06-10-2010, 04:15 PM   #1
Hardcore MB Enthusiast

Car: W124 E320 estate / W204 C350 cdi estate
W124 wiring loom DIY?

Hi all,

Well the inevitable has happened and my wiring loom is kaput. I am aware that a new one is about 600 so, as I have some time but not much money, I was contemplating having a go at fixing it myself.

I'm no electrician but I'm reasonably competent with a soldering iron and I'm wondering just how hard it is. Clearly, the biggest problem would seem to be the various sealed connectors, which I believe you cannot buy on their own. Is it simply a case of cutting them open as neatly as possible, soldering in the new wires and then resealing them (glue?)? Are there any connectors that are really tricky?Are any types of wire more suitable than any other? What sort of glue should I use? What sort of casing should I put round my lovely new bunches of wire? Any other issues?

Or should I just start saving for a proper one?!

Any suggestions gratefully received, many thanks.

Yours perhaps naively,

Simon
Williamwoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 04:52 PM   #2
Hardcore MB Enthusiast

Car: 300TE s124 E320 w124 3.6project & 300TE-24
Hi there Simon,this was posted the other day by Nick Froome

The first part to fail is normally the loom from the ECU to the coil packs. The "valley" between the cams is a pretty hot place and the loom degrades and shorts out, eventually killing the output transistors of the ECU

MB make a loom replacement section for 7 and you'll need three for an M104 engine. The tails are long (2 metres approx) so you should have enough length to go back to the ECU. Alternatively you can join into the loom on the section between the engine & ECU